Ireland retains core players for Hong Kong 7s

Ireland has retained most of their players from last year to play in Hong Kong, this weekend.

The 13-man squad travelled to Hong Kong last weekend ahead of the tournament, which starts on  Friday. The winner of the competition will gain a place in next season’s World Rugby Series.

Captain Billy Dardis, Ian Fitzpatrick, Hugo Keenan, Terry Kennedy, Harry McNulty, Bryan Mollen, John O’Donnell and Mark Roche all ran out at Hong Kong Stadium last year, while Foster Horan was the 13th man.

Now in Hong Kong for the first time are Jordan Conroy, Adam Leavy, Mick McGrath and Greg O’Shea.

Last year Ireland got to the semi-finals where they were knocked out by eventual winners Japan.

In Pool F this year they will face Russia, Uruguay and Jamaica.

Ireland 7s squad:

Billy Dardis (Terenure RFC), Jordan Conroy (Buccaneers RFC), Ian Fitzpatrick (Lansdowne FC), Foster Horan (Lansdowne FC), Hugo Keenan (UCD RFC/Leinster), Terry Kennedy (St. Mary’s College RFC), Adam Leavy (Lansdowne FC), Mick McGrath (Clontarf FC), Harry McNulty (UCD RFC), Bryan Mollen (Blackrock College RFC), John O’Donnell (Lansdowne FC), Greg O’Shea (Shannon RFC), Mark Roche (Blackrock College RFC)


Josephine Navula