Toa Residents named for Hawaii, President’s Cup in October

The president of Rugby League Samoa Tagaloa Faafouina Su’a has announced the names of the Toa Samoa Residence team to play Tonga Residents in Honolulu, Hawaii.

Tagaloa has also revealed that a President’s Cup will be held in October following the success of last Friday’s inaugural Open Girls Rugby League tournament.

“We have seen a few start their rugby league careers from college and end up playing professional level rugby and they are a fruit of the labors of this initiative by Rugby League Samoa,” said Tagaloa.

“The idea is to push anyone who is into rugby league while they are at their teens and support them through their education. Which is why we are having the President’s Cup in October, where a special team of stars from Savai’i and a team from Upolu, all from colleges, will play against an under 16 team from Queensland,” he said,

The games will be played the week prior to the big international clash between Toa Samoa and Fiji Bati at Apia Park.

“Our Toa Residents team will play the Queensland residents as well, all leading up to the test date against Fiji. It’s good healthy competition for Rugby League and especially for the young talents,” he added.

The Toa Samoa Residents team to play Tonga on August 20 are as follows.

1 David Masoe - Apia                                                              New Zealand.

2 Leo Brown - Apia                                                                 Simon Ieremia                   

3 Periti Fauolo - Bulldogs                                                        Arden McCarthy

4 Uati Uati - Bulldogs                                                              Eddie Purcel

5 Uputaua Suluape - Saints                                                   Australia

6 Tau Tau - Savaii (Amoa )                                                     Aotealofa Jaden Tuimavave

7 Ionatana Tino - Apia                                                           Iosua Afoa

8 Paul Chan Tung - Saints                                                     Ono Faafoi  Sooialo

9 Faalele Iosua - Apia

10 Heing Faanoi - Apia

11 Johnny Samuele - Savaii

12 Leia Saofaiga - Safata / Lefaga

13 David Fetalaiga - Apia Saints



Joshua Lafoai