Cowboys out to win it with stacked Nines squad

Paul Green has named a strong North Queensland squad for the Auckland Nines, with the majority of their first-grade stars making the trip.

Big names in the squad include halves Johnathan Thurston and Michael Morgan, hooker Jake Granville, forwards Jason Taumalolo and Ethan Lowe and backs Justin O'Neill, Kyle Feldt, Kane Linnett and Kalyn Ponga.

It will be the first trip to the Auckland Nines for four-time Dally M winner Thurston.

Lachlan Coote, Matt Scott and Antonio Winterstein are among the few big names left in Townsville.

The Cowboys will meet the Roosters, Raiders and Rabbitohs in the group stage.

Full squad:

John Asiata
Javid Bowen
Gavin Cooper (c)
Kyle Feldt
Gideon Gela-Mosby
Jake Granville
Ben Hampton
Coen Hess
Shaun Hudson
Corey Jensen
Kane Linnett
Ethan Lowe
Michael Morgan
Justin O’Neill
Kalyn Ponga
Jason Taumalolo
Johnathan Thurston
Shane Wright