Samoa name side for clash with Country

The Country U23s will take on a Samoa side filled with over 1,700 NRL or Super League First Grade games experience, with the Toa Samoa naming their team for the clash at McDonalds Park, Wagga Wagga tonight.

The match-up between the Country and Samoan sides will be the main event in a festival of football, with an Open-Age Men’s Group 9 v Group 20 Indigenous match, Women’s tackle nines match between Riverina and Western and U17’s clash between Riverina and Monaro taking place from 3pm (local time)

Toa Samoa Coach Matt Parish believes the match is a great opportunity, not only for his side, but for Rugby League fans throughout the Riverina.

"Samoa and Country Rugby League have a great relationship which has been extremely supportive of the development of the game in Samoa for many years," said Parish.

"I'm really pleased with the squad that we've announced for the Rugby League World Cup and it’s a great opportunity to see NRL and Super League quality players taking on some of the best young talent in Country Rugby League.

"There's plenty of local talent taking the field earlier in the day and we’re really excited to be playing a game in Regional NSW for the first time and hope the fans can get out to the ground and support what should be a great day of football."

Toa Samoa
1. Peter Mataútia (Newcastle Knights)
2. Matthew Wright (Manly Sea Eagles)
3. Young Tonumaipea (Melbourne Storm)
4. Joey Leilua (Canberra Raiders)
5. Ken Maumalo (New Zealand Warriors)
6. Jarome Luai (Penrith Panthers)
7. Faámanu Brown (Cronulla Sharks)
8. Zane Musgrove (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
9. Jazz Tevaga (New Zealand Warriors)
10. Sam Lisone (New Zealand Warriors)
11. Josh Papalii (Canberra Raiders)
12. Frank Pritchard (Parramatta Eels)
13. Leeson Ah Mau (St George Illawarra Dragons)
14. Pita Godinet (Manly Sea Eagles)
15. Joseph Paulo (Cronulla Sharks)
16. Frank Winterstein (Manly Sea Eagles)
17. Bunty Afoa (New Zealand Warriors)
18. Sam Tagatese (Cronulla Sharks)
19. Herman Ese’ese (Brisbane Broncos)
20. Suaia Matagi (Parramatta Eels)

Coach – Matt Parish

Country U23s
1. Jamie Ghoulmieh (Lakes United)
2. Jedidiah Simbiken (Queanbeyan Kangaroos)
3. Ryley Thomas (West Belconnen Warriors)
4. Jacob Gagai (Lakes United)
21. Kyle Krisanski-Kennedy (Lakes United)
6. Kauri Aupouri (Wyong Roos)
7. Jack Hickson (Woden Valley Rams)
8. Roman Fepulea’I (South Newcastle)
9. Jarrod Smith (Maitland Pickers)
10. Mitchell Shaw (West Belconnen Warriors)
11. Jake Lawrence (South Newcastle)
12. Tori Freeman-Quay (West Belconnen Warriors)
13. Joshua Baker (Queanbeyan Kangaroos)
14. Lincoln Smith (Maitland Pickers)
15. Brett Solomon (Tuggeranong Bushrangers)
16. Luke Higgins (South Newcastle)
17. Brendan O’Hagan (Berkeley Vale)
18. Samuel Keenan (Western Suburbs)
19. Cleveland McGhie (Woden Valley Rams)
20. Jake Wheeler (Queanbeyan Kangaroos)

Coach: Josh Cale


Photo by NRL