Wallabies captain Michael Hooper named John Eales Medal winner for third time

Wallabies captain Michael Hooper has won his third John Eales Medal, joining Israel Folau as the only players to win the prestigious award three times.

Hooper polled 91 points in the player-led vote, finishing just three points ahead of last year's winner Marika Koroibete, while James Slipper was third with 79 points.

Nic White (61 points) and Reece Hodge (56) rounded out the top five.

In a pandemic-reduced season, the Wallabies played six tests, winning one, drawing three and losing two.

"On behalf of the Australian Rugby community, I would like to congratulate all of our winners throughout the Rugby Australia Awards series," Rugby Australia interim boss Rob Clarke said.

"I'd especially like to congratulate our Wallabies captain, Michael Hooper, on winning the John Eales Medal for a third time.

"Michael is an incredible rugby player, an outstanding captain and an excellent leader on-and-off the field.

"The way he conducts himself is a credit to him and the values he lives his life by, and we congratulate him on his achievement.

"All our winners thoroughly deserve the accolades in what has been a challenging 2020."

The 29-year-old, who played his 100th Test during the season, first captained the Wallabies in 2014, becoming the youngest man to lead Australia in 50 years.

Hooper's third medal, in addition to his 2013 and 2016 awards, means he joins Folau (2014, 2015 and 2017) with a hat-trick of medals.

Nathan Sharpe, George Smith and David Pocock have all won the medal twice.