Cape Town 7s rugby

Blitzboks successfully defend crown in Cape Town

South Africa beat Argentina to lift the inaugural HSBC Cape Town Sevens and a third successive Cup victory on home soil, having won the 2013 and 2014 Port Elizabeth Sevens.

In the final the Blitzboks came from 7-0 behind to win 29-14 thanks to tries from Rosko Specman (2), Seabelo Senatla (2) and Ryno Benjamin against a Los Pumas side appearing in their first final since the 2009 USA Sevens in San Diego. Earlier, Juan de Jongh, Specman and Philip Snyman scored for Neil Powell's side in their 21-12 semi-final win over France.

Pools drawn for HSBC Cape Town Sevens

The draw for the HSBC Cape Town Sevens was made before the Cup final at the opening round of the series in Dubai, with winners Fiji heading Pool A at the sold-out Cape Town Stadium.