NZ Teams

NZ's delayed border reopening could impact Super Rugby Pacific

Non-quarantine travel, which was set to be opened for New Zealanders in Australia on 17 January, would be pushed back until the end of February, Covid-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins said at a media conference on Tuesday.

The length of stay in MIQ facilities would be temporarily increased from a week to 10 days.

The new Super Rugby Pacific competition will feature five teams each from New Zealand and Australia and two sides representing the Pacific Islands -- Moana Pasifika and Fijian Drua.

Extra home games for NZ Super Rugby sides

Venues have been confirmed for the five round three matches, which were originally scheduled to be played at one ground as part of a 'Super Round'.

The round will kick-off in Napier on Friday, May 28 when the Hurricanes will host the Western Force.

The following night the Blues will square off against the Brumbies at Eden Park, while the Highlanders will host the Melbourne Rebels on Sunday afternoon at a yet to be confirmed venue within their region.