Singapore 7s

Manu Samoa 7s finishes 4th in Singapore

This is after the team went down to Fiji 19-24 in the bronze final.

Last minute tries to duo Joseva Talacolo and Terio Tamani saved Fiji from the jaws of defeat to claim third place in Singapore.

Fiji was down 7-19 with Samoa looking dominant and on course for its second win over the national side in Singapore.

Tamani put Fiji first on the board before Samoa hit back with three tries to Vaa Apelu Maliko, Tuna Tuitama and Taunuu Niulevaea.

Iowane Teba reignited Fiji’s hope before Talacolo and Tamani sealed it at the last minute of play.

Manu Samoa 7s downs Fiji and remains unbeaten in Singapore

The side defeated the national team 28-7.

Samoa had a fiery start with two converted tries.

Paul Scanlan went in first, finishing off a well-executed team effort.

Tuna Tuitama backed this up with their second try, making the Fijian defenders look like amateurs in the game, running a straight line through.

Fiji’s restart woes continues as they gave away precious possession.

But after some patient play they were able to get on the scoresheet through Iowane Teba seeing Fiji trail 7-14 at the breather.

10-try Naduvalo the star man as Fiji claim Singapore title

Australia beat impressive Ireland 21-19 to clinch a hard fought bronze medal and remain in contention for the 2022 Series title.

Prior to Singapore, South Africa had won all four rounds of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2022 to date - and six in total in a row - but in Singapore’s National Stadium it was to be Fiji’s moment.

The last time anyone but South Africa had won a men’s tournament on the big stage was in March 2020 in Vancouver when New Zealand took top honours.

All Blacks Sevens into Singapore semifinal after Samoa slog

In a dramatic match, which featured a late red card for Samoa’s Paul Scanlan, and an early yellow card for New Zealand skipper Sam Dickson, the All Blacks Sevens eased to a 22-14 victory after scoring two tries in the final two minutes.

Moses Leo opened New Zealand’s account with an excellent individual try after only one minute, but then the Kiwis had to dig deep to cope with the sinbinning of Dickson, who was shown a yellow card by referee Tevita Rokoverani for throwing the ball away after conceding a penalty. It was Dickson's second of the tournament.

All Blacks Sevens to meet Samoa into Singapore quarter-finals

The All Blacks Sevens edged Argentina 14-10 in their opening group game, before beating Scotland 19-7 and crushing Wales 43-5 on day one of the event.

In their pool match, Samoa led 10-7 at half-time versus Australia, who were third in the overall standings heading into Singapore, but the latter fought back to come out on top 26-17. The tries for the victors came from Matthew Gonzalez, Josh Turner, Corey Toole and Timothy Clements.

Samoa thrashes Spain to win first pool game

The Gordon Tietjens coached side also led at halftime 21-7.

Samoa’s tries were scored by Melani Matavao, Alamanda Motuga , Tomasi Alosio, David Afamasaga, John Vaili.

Manuel Sainz-Trapaga and Jordi Jorba scored tries for Spain.

Samoa will meet Japan in their next pool game.


Samoa has potential to win Singapore 7s

The team missed out on its chance of featuring in the main final after losing to France 19-12.

The Gordon Tietjens coached side won two of its pool games and lost to South Africa 21-7 in its final pool game.

After the semifinal loss, the team then went on to settle in fourth place in the tournament after losing to USA 22-10.

After the competition in So Kon Po, Samoa’s Alamanda Motuga is ranked second in the DHL’s performance tracker with 231 points.

Samoa will take on Spain in their first match of the Singapore 7s before taking on Japan on Saturday.

Samoa names team to HK, Singapore 7s

Samoa is in a tough Pool A with England, Australia and South Africa for the Hong Kong tournament which will be held from 7-9 April.

The Singapore 7s will be held a week later on 15-16 April.

The Samoa team is as follows:

1. Alamanda Motuga
2. Alatasi Tupou
3. Alex Samoa
4. Daniel Kayes
5. Faalemiga Selesele 
6. Gordon Langkilde
7. Joe Perez
8. Lafaele Vaa
9. Mathew Tuātagaloa (debutant)
10. Samoa Toloa 
11. Savelio Ropati
12. Siaosi Asofolau
13. Tila Mealoi
14. Tomasi Alosio