Samoa stars return for quarter-final

Toa Samoa captain Frank Pritchard and halfback Ben Roberts will return for Friday night's Rugby League World Cup quarter-final against Australia in Darwin, while lock Leeson Ah Mau has been recalled to the starting line-up.

Pritchard and Roberts did not play in last Saturday's 14-14 draw against Scotland, which earned Samoa a play-off berth due to a superior for-and-against than the Bravehearts.

Papua New Guinea coach Michael Marum has also named star five-eighth Ase Boas for Sunday's quarter-final showdown with England in Melbourne after resting the Queensland Cup player of the year from last weekend's 64-0 defeat of USA.

Lachlan Lam makes way for Boas, despite scoring two tries in his Test debut for the Kumuls.

In other quarter-final team news, Tonga strike centre Michael Jennings has been chosen for Saturday's match against Lebanon in Christchurch after missing last Saturday's epic 28-22 win over New Zealand with a hamstring injury.

Cedars coach Brad Fittler has only named 20 players due to injury, including Chris Saab, who is on an extended bench, after being forced from the field with concussion in last Saturday night's 34-0 loss to Australia.

The match was Saab's first of the tournament after he was knocked out in the warm-up for the opening clash with France and failed to recover in time for Lebanon's next game against England. 

Fiji coach Michael Potter has named an unchanged side for the quarter-final against New Zealand in Wellington on Saturday night.


1   Billy SLATER 
2   Dane GAGAI
3   William CHAMBERS
4   Joshua DUGAN
5   Valentine HOLMES
6   Michael MORGAN
7  Cooper CRONK
8   Aaron WOODS
9   Cameron SMITH (c)
10  David KLEMMER
11  Boyd CORDNER
12  Matthew GILLETTT
13  Joshua MCGUIRE
14  Wade Graham
15  Jordan MCLEAN
17  Tyson FRIZELL
18  Felise KAUFUSI
19  Cameron MUNSTER
20  James MALONEY
21  Ben HUNT


2    Matthew WRIGHT
3    Ricky LEUTELE
4   Joseph LEILUA
5   Timoteo LAFAI
6   Jarome LUAI
8   Junior PAULO
9   Jazz TEVAGA
10   Herman ESE'ESE
11   Joshua PAPALII
12   Frank PRITCHARD
13   Leeson AH MAU
14    Fa'amanu BROWN
15   Bunty AFOA
16   Suaia MATAGI
17   Joseph PAULO
18   Zane MUSGROVE
20  Pita GODINET  
21   Ken MAUMALO 

Quarter-Final 1: Australia vs Samoa
Darwin Stadium, Friday 17 November 7.00pm (ACST)