Historic day for Pacific MPs with announcement of ministerial portfolios

It's another historic day for four Pacific Labour MPs with the announcement of the ministerial portfolios.

MP for Kelston Carmel Sepuloni is Minister for Social Development, Minister for Disability Issues, Associate Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage and Associate Minister for Pacific Peoples.

MP for Manukau East Jenny Salesa is the Minister for Building and Construction, Minister for Ethnic Communities, Associate Minister of Education, Health, and Housing and Urban Development.

MP for Mangere Aupito Su'a William Sio has been appointed the new Minister for Pacific Peoples, Associate Minister for Courts and Associate Minister of Justice.

MP for Mana Kris Faafoi is the Minister of Civil Defence, Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs and Associate Minister of Immigration.

PRN reports Prime Minister-elect Jacinda Ardern is the Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage and Minister for Child Poverty and Reduction.

New Zealand First Leader Winston Peters has taken up the Deputy Prime Minister role as well as being the Minister of Foreign Affairs, State Owned Enterprises and Minister for Racing.

Green Party Leader James Shaw is the Minister for Climate Change, Statistics and Associate Minister of Finance.

The new government and ministers will be sworn in tomorrow.


Breaking News