PNG U19 squad announced

The final squad for the OFC U-19 Championship, to be staged in Tahiti, has been announced.

The Championship will be held from August 5 to August 18.

Except for new inclusion in Stahl Gubag, Joseph Wawai, Laventine Munuo and Cameron Nuabi, coach Harrison Kamake has retained the bulk of his U-17 team that participated in the OFC U-17 Championship in Tahiti last year. 

The team did well by qualifying for the OFC U-17 Championship semi-final for the first time in the nation’s history and lost to New Zealand.

Kamake said he was happy with the composition of the team, which was dominated by players from Besta PNG United with three from Southern Strikers and one from Madang FC.

He said he had followed the progress of the players from the National Soccer League and was satisfied with their performance.

Kamake said he had quality players and they are prepared to face Tonga, New Zealand and host Tahiti. “We are not afraid of any team because these are the same players we played them last year during the OFC U-17 Championship.”

“We’ve got good players who are ready to give their best for their country when the OFC U-19 Championship kicks off.”

PNG is pooled in Group A with New Zealand, Tonga and Tahiti while Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, Fiji and New Caledonia are in Group B.

PNG U-19 final squad: Goalkeepers: Graham Berigami, Baxter Morris, Defenders: Dopson Noi, Kimson Kapai, Freeman Giwi, Sylvester Wafihunia, Dinniget Luaine, Midfielders: Joseph Waiwai, Obert Simon, Emmanuel Simongi, Ricky Wadunah, Yagi Yasasa, Laventine Munuo, Forwards: Jonathan Allen, Barthy Kerobin, Cameron Nuabi, Stahl Gubag, Wolfram Gregory, Abraham Allen.

Team management: Coach Harrison Kamake, Assistant Coach Gina Sam, Physio Stanley Pokasap and Team Manager Besi Simongi.