Roosters winner

Roosters win Auckland Nines as Johnathan Thurston takes aim at Auckland

They may not have had real superstars in their squad, but the Roosters were able to have enough experienced heads, plus plenty of x-factor to be the worthy champions.

Daniel Tupou scored the opening try in the final, racing down the right edge in the third minute and Bernard Lewis struck in the opposite corner soon after.

Leading 10-0 at halftime, the Roosters just needed to keep their defence solid in the second half for the title, but Malakai Watene-Zelezniak picked up a try in the 12th minute to get the Panthers back in the game.